Functional Area Certification Standards

iCatalog Home
Expand Functional Area and Tier
Functional Area
Functional Area Certification Standards

(See Notes at the Bottom)
Core Certification Standards (required for DAWIA certification)
 Education Operations Research degree required or 24 semester hours in combination of operations research, mathematics, probability, statistics, mathematical logic, science, or subject-matter courses requiring substantial competency in college-level mathematics or statistics. At least 3 of the 24 semester hours must have been in calculus.
 Training   ACQ 1010  Fundamentals of Systems Acquisition Management
  BUS 1100  Business Essentials
  BCE 1000  Fundamentals of Cost Estimating
  BCE 0010  Introduction to Cost Modeling
  BCE 1700  Cost Assessment Data Enterprise (CADE) 101
  BCE 1710  FlexFiles 101
  BCE 2000V  Intermediate Cost Estimating
 Experience At least 4 years of acquisition experience in cost estimating and serving a program office, PEO, Service/Defense agency level, or supporting a program that reports to a Service Acquisition Executive (SAE)
 Assessment None required
 Certification Currency 80 hours Continuous Learning (CL) every 2 years – with an acquisition and/or leadership focus. CL guidelines: >50 hours of course work pertaining to Acquisition, >20 hours of leadership training

Functional/Interdisciplinary Developmental Recommendations
Assignment Type  Opportunities
Cost Estimator Functional Area
   CBCE 001 Software Cost Estimation Credential
   CLB 025 Total Ownership Cost

   ACQ 0030 Overview of Acquisition Ethics
   ACQ 0040 Ethics Training
   ACQ 0061 Independent Government Cost Estimate (IGCE) for Services Acquisition
   ACQ 3700V Acquisition Law
   ALD 0010 Mastering the Strategic Moment
   ALD 0020 Mindfulness
   ALD 0030 Professionalism
   ALD 0090 Communication
   CLE 001 Value Engineering
   CLE 035 Introduction to Probability and Statistics
   CLE 076 Introduction to Agile Software Acquisition
   EVM 101 Fundamentals of Earned Value Management
   LOG 0050 Developing a Life Cycle Sustainment Plan (LCSP)

2 An "(R)" following a course title indicates the course is delivered as instructor-led/resident-based instruction.
21 If a virtual instructor-led version of a course is available, the course number is noted by the “V” after the course ID. The “V” course is acceptable in lieu of the (R) version of the course. For example, ACQ 2030V is acceptable in lieu of ACQ 2030. A separate concept card is available at: